Culture & Leadership | Policy & Measurement | Staff & Provider Engagement | Diversity Equity and Inclusion | Supporting the Workforce

Promoting Anti-Racism and Supporting Staff through Policy

Upcoming Event - March 5, 2024

2pm ET / 1pm CT / 12pm MT / 11am PT – Mount Sinai deepened its commitment to equity and began a journey towards anti-racism in 2020. As part of this effort a diverse group of colleagues responded to a call for action from the staff to create a policy that clearly defines how to manage patients acting in a racist/ discriminatory way while supporting staff as well. Our policy was written and implemented across the health system and serves as a resource to all. We will present steps utilized to develop and create this policy in a collaborative way, the specific core contents of the policy, and methods used to socialize this work including awareness and educational sessions. We will also speak about the impact the policy has had on our workforce and our plans for sustaining these efforts.

Learning Objectives
– Use a collaborative approach to creating a policy that upholds anti-racism and provides guidance on how to manage racist behaviors as they arise.
– Distinguish an Anti-Racist policy from a policy that simply does not support racist behavior.
– Identify the resources and organizational support required to socialize a policy to address racist patient behaviors.

Speakers:
Pamela Abner, MPA, CPXP | SVP, Chief Diversity Operations Officer and System Health Equity Officer, Mount Sinai Health System
Erica Rubinstein, LCSW, CPXP | Vice President Patient Experience, Mount Sinai Health System

Non-members can purchase webinars at a cost of $49 each.

If this is a PX Marketplace or sponsored webinar, your registration will opt you in to receive a one-time email follow-up from the sponsoring organization.

Related content